Sponsored by ring
Crime & Safety

Motorists Beware: 4 New Calif. Roadway Safety Laws Coming In 2021

When you hit the road in 2021, be prepared for new laws aimed at helping to keep motorists in the Golden State safer. ??

Make sure you know the new laws of 2021.
Make sure you know the new laws of 2021. (Shutterstock)

CALIFORNIA — As with any new year, a new wave of laws will start taking effect on Jan. 1. Some of them won't affect many, some of them will affect all. And some of them will affect a specific group of people, like motorists.

From ensuring a good Samaritan can't be punished for rescuing a small child from a hot car, to cracking down on distracted drivers, the CHP will be enforcing some important new laws in 2021.

The California Highway Patrol shared the following list and descriptions of roadway safety bills that they wished to highlight as 2020 comes to an end:

  • Unattended children in motor vehicles (AB 2717, Chau): Exempts a person from civil or criminal liability for trespassing or damaging a vehicle when rescuing a child who is 6 years old or younger and who is in immediate danger from heat, cold, lack of ventilation, or other dangerous circumstances. The law takes effect January 1, 2021.
  • "Move Over, Slow Down" amendments (AB 2285, Transportation Committee): Extends the provisions of the "Move Over, Slow Down" law currently in place on freeways to also apply to local streets and roads so drivers approaching a stationary emergency vehicle displaying emergency lights, including tow trucks and Caltrans vehicles, must now move to another lane when possible, or slow to a reasonable speed on all highways, not just freeways. The law is effective January 1, 2021.
  • License points for distracted driving (AB 47, Daly; 2019): Using a cell phone in a handheld manner while driving is currently punishable by a fine. Beginning July 1, 2021, violating the hands-free law for a second time within 36 months of a prior conviction for the same offense will result in a point being added to a driver's record. This applies to the violations of talking or texting while driving (except for hands-free use) and to any use of these devices while driving by a person under 18 years of age.
  • Emergency vehicles (SB 909, Dodd): Allows authorized emergency vehicles to use a "Hi-Lo" warning sound. This distinctive sound, different than a siren, would be used to notify the public of an immediate need to evacuate an area in an emergency. The CHP is currently developing regulations to standardize the Hi-Lo warning sound statewide. Until the regulations are adopted, law enforcement agencies can use the Hi-Lo warning sound by obtaining a permit from the CHP. The law went into effect September 29, 2020.

SEE ALSO: 6 New California Laws That May Impact Your Life In 2021

To request removal of your name from an arrest report, submit these required items to arrestreports@www.mhsaving.com.

The rules of replying:

  • Be respectful. This is a space for friendly local discussions. No racist, discriminatory, vulgar or threatening language will be tolerated.
  • Be transparent. Use your real name, and back up your claims.
  • Keep it local and relevant. Make sure your replies stay on topic.
  • Review the Patch Community Guidelines.
See more local news

Loading...